top of page

College Student Opens Nail Salon at 20 Years Old!

Updated: Mar 24, 2020


Nails.

It's just one of those things that we have to get done.

"Nails done, hair done, everything did" goes beyond the Drake song: Fancy.


As women, we take pride in how we look, and our nails are at the top of the list.



Ryan Baker aka "The Nail Doctor" is working to make sure that each one of her clients who step inside her salon leaves with an unforgettable experience every time they book an appointment. The designs she crafts are refreshing, creative and original. She recently opened The Nail Doctor and Co Pamper Lounge to the public in October 2019 and has already received loyal clients, a reliable team and has plans to continue expanding her business.


"I'm currently working towards expanding the reach of my brand globally and domestically, I have a lot of new ventures I want to embark on, while simultaneously using my brand to create opportunities for incarcerated women and girls."


For a 20-year-old, that is a major accomplishment, especially while attending college as a junior majoring in Business.


"It is the hardest part of my life currently, I'm still having a hard time balancing the two."


Baker originally learned how to do nails after her she received her first acrylic set at 16-years-old. It was that experience that made her realize she wanted to learn how to do nails for herself and others.


"@chellys_nails was crucial in my education and the precision of my work today! Her kindness and passion that she exuded while helping others learn/perfect their craft really pushed me into wanting the same."


"I had a lot of challenges but mostly financial. My business was funded directly on my own cash flow, it was hard trying to secure funding as a 20 yr old with no business credit and very little personal credit. It created a lot of stress for me. I listen to a lot of old school R&B, lol.. not very motivational but few people know that singing was my first love and it's a great stress reliever for me but it has to be good meaningful music!"


Apart from singing, Baker also used her future success as fuel to keep going and build her business.


"I envision my future successful self as inspiration. I feel like looking to others for inspiration can become dangerous and deceitful because no one is telling their whole story and all of their hardships and struggles, so I don't like to find inspiration from perceived realities."



There is no "I" in team. Baker has accomplished a lot at 20 years old, but she recognizes that she could not have made it this far on her own.



"I have a very big support system, but while I was putting my salon together, it was really my mom who was my backbone. I found myself feeling extremely isolated and dejected from everyone/thing around me while I was starting the business but she did a great job of keeping me on track and from falling too hard into my own rabbit hole."


Baker has no plans to stop building anytime soon. Her business has expanded from acrylic sets to pedicures, gel sets, natural nail care, and The Nail Doctor and Co merchandise! In the salon, you can also find products from local businesses in the community.


"I know who and what I want to be, and there's nothing that could stop me from attaining that. I shouldn't have made it this far, but I know the author of my story and what was written for me, so no matter how many times I get down I always get back up!"


Make sure to follow Ryan and The Nail Doctor & Co Pamper Lounge! If you're ever in Charlotte, you know where to go to get a fresh set!




0 comments
bottom of page